Egmore (SC) (State Assembly Constituency)

Egmore (SC) is the legislative assembly, that includes the locality, Egmore, which is in Chennai. This seat is reserved for scheduled caste. Egmore assembly constituency was part of Chennai Central (Lok Sabha constituency). This district, has been a stronghold for the DMK, since the formation of the party, winning every election except the 1962 election, when Anbazhagan of DMK lost to Jothi Venkatachalam, by 1617 votes (2.66%).

Total Voters:

Male 94,933
Female: 95,983
Transgender 33
Total 1,90,949


AIADMKCandidate for Egmore Assembly Election 2016 – Mr. Parithi Ellamvazhuthi


Egmore AIADMK Candidate Mr.Parithi Ellamvazhuthi

ஊழல் பணத்தில் திமுகவினர் கட்சி நடத்தி வருவதாக அதிமுக வேட்பாளர்  பரிதி இளம்வழுதி குற்றச்சாட்டு

ஊழல் பணத்தில் திமுகவினர் கட்சி நடத்தி வருவதாக அதிமுக வேட்பாளர் பரிதி இளம்வழுதி குற்றச்சாட்டுஏப்ரல் 20, 2016,

ஊழல் பணத்தில் தான், திமுகவினர் கட்சி நடத்தி வருவதாக, அதிமுக சார்பில் எழும்பூர் சட்டமன்ற தொகுதியில் போட்டியிடும் பரிதி இளம்வழுதி தெரிவித்துள்ளார்.

எழும்பூர் சட்டமன்ற தொகுதி அதிமுக வேட்பாளராக போட்டியிடும் பரிதி இளம்வழுதி, அத்தொகுதிக்குட்பட்ட புளிந்தோப்பு பகுதியில் இன்று வாக்கு சேரித்தார். அப்போது செய்தியாளர்களிடம் பேசிய அவர், மழை வெள்ளத்தின்போது, அதிமுக அரசு மேற்கொண்ட பணிகள் காரணமாக, தனது வெற்றி உறுதி செய்யப்பட்டுள்ளதாக தெரிவித்தார். திமுக தலைமை அராஜகமான முறையில் செயல்படுவதாகவும், ஊழல் செய்த பணத்தில் தான், கட்சியை நடத்தி வருவதாகவும் பரிதி இளம்வழுதி குற்றம் சாட்டினார்.


Legislative Assembly Election Results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fifteenth 2016- Ravichandran DMK 55,060
Fourteenth 2011-2016 Nallathambi K DMDK 51772
Thirteenth 2006-2011 Parithi Ellamvazhuthi DMK 38455
Twelfth 2001-06 Parithi.Ellamvazhuthi DMK 33189
Eleventh 1996-01 Ellam Vazhuthi,I. DMK 51061
Tenth 1991-96 Elamvazhuthi DMK 23139
Ninth 1989-91 Elamvazhuthi DMK 38032
Eighth 1984-89 Balan, S. DMK 29795
Seventh 1980-84 Ellayaperumal,L INC(I) 38200
Sixth 1977-80 S.Manimudi DMK 26746
Fifth 1971-77 Arangannal DMK 40596

History of Chennai District

Corporation of ChennaiChennai is the capital city of the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Chennai is known as the “Detroit of India” for its automobile industry. It is the fourth-largest city and fourth-most populous metropolitan area in the country and 36th-largest urban area in the world.

The Chennai Metropolitan Area as recently as January 2015 has been ranked the fourth-largest economy in India and the third-highest GDP per capita. As a growing metropolitan city in a developing country, Chennai confronts substantial pollution and other logistical and socio-economic problems. Chennai has been selected as one of the 20 Indian cities to be developed as a smart city under PM Narendra Modi’s flagship Smart Cities Mission.

After India gained its independence in 1947, the city became the capital of Madras State, which was renamed as Tamil Nadu in 1969.The violent agitations of 1965 against the compulsory imposition of Hindi and in support of English in India in the state marked a major shift in the political dynamics of the city and eventually it had a big impact on the whole state. Because of madras and its people English exists now in India otherwise Hindi might have been made as solo language in India. On 17 July 1996, the city known as Madras was officially renamed Chennai, in line with what was then a nationwide trend to using less Anglicized names.

Chennai sometimes referred to as the “Gateway to South India,” is located on the south–eastern coast of India in the north–eastern part of Tamil Nadu on a flat coastal plain known as the Eastern Coastal Plains. Its average elevation is around 6.7 metres (22 ft), and its highest point is 60 m (200 ft).


Chennai District MapChennai Area

Area Sq. Km: 175

Chennai Population:

Male: 2,335,844
Female: 2,310,888
Total: 4,646,732

Literacy Rates

Male: 93.70%
Female: 86.64%
Total: 90.18%