Kattumannarkoil (SC) (State Assembly Constituency)

Tamil Nadu Assembly Election 2016 Results


Candidate Party Symbol No. of Votes
N.Murugumaran ADMK 48,450
Thirumavalavan VCK 48,363
Maniratnam INC 37,346
PMK 25,890

Achievements of MLA Mr. N. Murugumaran


Kattumannarkoil is the legislative assembly that includes the city, Kattumannarkoil. It is part of the Chidambaram (Lok Sabha constituency).

Total Voters:

Male 1,07,251
Female: 1,03,431
Transgender 5
Total 2,10,687


AIADMK Candidate for Kattumannarkoil Assembly Election 2016 – Mr. MK Manikandan


AIADMK Candidate for Bhuvanagiri Assembly Election 2016 - Mr. MK Manikandan

Legislative Assembly Election Results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fifteenth 2016- N.Murugumaran AIADMK 48,450
Fourteenth 2011-2016 N.Murugumaran AIADMK 83665
Thirteenth 2006-2011 Ravikumar.D. VCK 57244
Twelfth 2001-06 Vallalperuman. P. DMK 55444
Eleventh 1996-01 Ramalingam, E. DMK 46978
Tenth 1991-96 Rajendiran N.R. ADK 48103
Ninth 1989-91 A. Thangaraju IND 30877
Eighth 1984-89 S.Jayachandran INC 42928
Seventh 1980-84 Ramalingam, E DMK 44012
Sixth 1977-80 E. Ramalingam DMK 26038
Fifth 1971-77 S. Perumal DMK 32847
Fourth 1967-71 S. Sivasubramanian INC 30521

History of Cuddalore District

Cuddalore Temple

Cuddalore District is one of the 6 districts of Tiruvannamalai region and a district of Tamil Nadu state in southern India. The city of Cuddalore is the district headquarters. According to Census 2011, Cuddalore district had a population of 2,605,914 with a sex-ratio of 987 females for every 1,000 males.

The history of the systematic administration of the Land Revenue of erstwhile South Arcot District begins with the acquisition from the Nawab in 1801, when the Nawab made over the Carnatic to the Company , Captain Graham was appointed to take charge of the District lying between Palar and Portonovo rivers and become the first Collector South Arcot.

In 1808, However Arcot, Vellore, Thiruvathur , Polur , and Arani Jagir were transferred to North Arcot and Wandiwash to Cheingelput while the Fort St.David and Pondicherry villages (which at different time had been under both, the Collector and the commercial resident at Cuddalore) were incorporated with the District. In 1816, Pondicherry was finally restored to the French and erstwhile South Arcot assumed practically its position. Cuddalore , which is District Headquarters for South Arcot District for more than a century. This has been mentioned everywhere in the history. The present Cuddalore District has been formed on 30.9.1993

The famous typical and universal logic temple of Sri Natarajan is situated in this district. It is an interesting subject to scientists and innovators to research on the dancing postage of Lord Sri. Nataraja.


Cuddalore District MapCuddalore Area:

Area Sq. Km: 3,703

Chennai Population:

Male: 1,311,697
Female: 1,294,217
Total: 2,605,914

Literacy Rates

Male: 85.93%
Female: 70.14%
Total: 78.04%