Kurinjipadi (State Assembly Constituency)

Kurinjipadi is the legislative assembly that includes the city, Kurinjipadi. It is part of the Cuddalore (Lok Sabha constituency). Before 1977, Kurinjipadi constituency was reserved for scheduled caste.

Total Voters:

Male 1,11,020
Female: 1,10,844
Transgender 4
Total 2,21,868


AIADMK Candidate for Kurinjipadi Assembly Election 2016 – Mr. R. Rajendran


AIADMK Candidate for Kurinjipadi Assembly Election 2016 - Mr. R. Rajendran

MLA Mr. R. Rajendran




Ex-AIADMK MLA Mr. R. Rajendran


Father Name Rajangam
Date of Birth 9th September 1961
Place of Birth Sorathur Village
Education B.A.
Occupation Agriculture and Business
Marital Status Married; One Child.
Address Chennai: A5E, MLAs Quarters, Omanthoorar Government Estate, Chennai-600 002.
Mofussil: Sorathur Village, Vallam Post, Panruti Taluk, Cuddalore District.
Telephone Chennai–Residence:   044-25367127
Mobile:+91 9443253166
E-mail mlakurinjipadi@tn.gov.in

Legislative Assembly Election Results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fifteenth 2016- M.R.K.Panneerselvam DMK 82,864
Fourteenth 2011-2016 R.Rajendran AIADMK 88345
Thirteenth 2006-2011 Panneerselvam.M.R.K. DMK 56462
Twelfth 2001-06 Panneer Selvam M.R.K DMK 65425
Eleventh 1996-01 M.R.K. Panneerselvam DMK 67152
Tenth 1991-96 Sivasubramanian K. ADK 51313
Ninth 1989-91 Ganeshmurthy, N. DMK 44887
Eighth 1984-89 A.Thangarasu ADK 45400
Seventh 1980-84 Thangarasu, A ADK 38349
Sixth 1977-80 M. Selvaraj DMK 19523
Fifth 1971-77 N. Rajangan DMK 27465
Fourth 1967-71 N. Rajangam DMK 25478

History of Cuddalore District

Cuddalore Temple

Cuddalore District is one of the 6 districts of Tiruvannamalai region and a district of Tamil Nadu state in southern India. The city of Cuddalore is the district headquarters. According to Census 2011, Cuddalore district had a population of 2,605,914 with a sex-ratio of 987 females for every 1,000 males.

The history of the systematic administration of the Land Revenue of erstwhile South Arcot District begins with the acquisition from the Nawab in 1801, when the Nawab made over the Carnatic to the Company , Captain Graham was appointed to take charge of the District lying between Palar and Portonovo rivers and become the first Collector South Arcot.

In 1808, However Arcot, Vellore, Thiruvathur , Polur , and Arani Jagir were transferred to North Arcot and Wandiwash to Cheingelput while the Fort St.David and Pondicherry villages (which at different time had been under both, the Collector and the commercial resident at Cuddalore) were incorporated with the District. In 1816, Pondicherry was finally restored to the French and erstwhile South Arcot assumed practically its position. Cuddalore , which is District Headquarters for South Arcot District for more than a century. This has been mentioned everywhere in the history. The present Cuddalore District has been formed on 30.9.1993

The famous typical and universal logic temple of Sri Natarajan is situated in this district. It is an interesting subject to scientists and innovators to research on the dancing postage of Lord Sri. Nataraja.


Cuddalore District MapCuddalore Area:

Area Sq. Km: 3,703

Chennai Population:

Male: 1,311,697
Female: 1,294,217
Total: 2,605,914

Literacy Rates

Male: 85.93%
Female: 70.14%
Total: 78.04%