Anthiyur (State Assembly Constituency)

Anthiyur is the legislative assembly, that includes the city, Anthiyur. It is part of the Tirupur (Lok Sabha constituency). The constituency is in existence since 1962 election. Anthiyur is part of Gobichettipalayam (Lok Sabha constituency) until 2009 election.

Total Voters:

Male 1,02,914
Female: 1,02,857
Transgender 17
Total 2,05,788

AIADMKCandidate for Anthiyur Assembly Election 2016 – Mr. EMR Raja alias Raja Krishnan


அந்தியூர் தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் அறிமுக கூட்டம்

அந்தியூர் தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் அறிமுக கூட்டம்ஏப்ரல் 19, 2016,

அந்தியூர் சட்டசபை தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் அறிமுக கூட்டம் அந்தியூரில் நடந்தது. கூட்டத்துக்கு அந்தியூர் எஸ்.எஸ்.ரமணீதரன் எம்.எல்.ஏ. தலைமை தாங்கினார். புறநகர் மாவட்ட எம்.ஜி.ஆர். மன்ற இணைச்செயலாளர் டி.ஆர்.முனுசாமி நாயுடு, மாவட்ட கவுன்சிலர் எஸ்.கார்த்திகேயன், ஒன்றிய அ.தி.மு.க. முன்னாள் செயலாளர் ஏ.கே.வெங்கடாசலம், அந்தியூர் ஊராட்சி ஒன்றியக்குழு தலைவர் அப்பா நாயக்கர், பேரூராட்சி தலைவர் மீனாட்சி சுந்தரம் ஆகியோர் முன்னிலை வகித்தனர். அந்தியூர் ஒன்றிய அ.தி.மு.க. செயலாளர் கே.பி.எஸ்.ராஜா வரவேற்று பேசினார். கூட்டத்தில் தமிழக சுற்றுச்சூழல் துறை அமைச்சர் தோப்பு என்.டி.வெங்கடாசலம் சிறப்பு விருந்தினராக கலந்து கொண்டு அந்தியூர் சட்டசபை தொகுதி வேட்பாளரான இ.எம்.ஆர்.ராஜாவை அறிமுகம் செய்து வைத்து பேசினார். இதில் இளைஞர் அணி மாவட்ட செயலாளர் எஸ்.பி.ரமேஷ், நகலூர் ஊராட்சி தலைவர் கே.எம்.வெள்ளியங்கிரி, அந்தியூர் நுகர்வோர் கூட்டுறவு சங்க தலைவர் சண்முகானந்தம் உள்பட கட்சியினர் பலர் கலந்துகொண்டனர். 


Legislative assembly election results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Ramanitharan.S.S AIADMK 78496

History of Erode District

Bhavani Sangameshwarar Temple

Erode District was a part of Coimbatore has its history intervened with that of Coimbatore and because of its close linkage with the erstwhile Coimbatore district. It is very difficult to separately deal with the history of Erode region. Together with the area comprised in the Coimbatore district, it formed part of the ancient Kongu country known as “Kongu Nadu” history of which dates back to the Sangam era.

It is found that in the early days, this area was occupied by tribes, most prominent among them being the “Kosars” reportedly having their headquarters at ‘Kosamputhur’ which is believed to have in due course become Coimbatore. These tribes were overpowered by the Rashtrakutas from whom the region fell into the hands of the Cholas who ruled supreme during the time of Raja Chola.

On the decline of Cholas, the Kongunadu came to be occupied by the Chalukyas and later by the Pandyas and Hoysalas. Due to internal dissension in the Pandian Kingdom, the Muslim rulers from Delhi interfered and thus the area fell into the hands of Madurai Sultanate. This region was later wrested by Vijaya Nagar rulers after over throwing the Madurai Sultanate. For a few years, the area remained under Vijaya Nagar rule and later under the independent control of Madurai Nayakas.

The rule of Muthu Veerappa Nayak and later that of Tirumalai Nayak were marked by internal strife and intermittent wars which ruined the Kingdom. As a result of this, the Kongu region in which the present Erode District is situated, fell into the hands of the Mysore rulers from whom Hyder Ali took over the area.

Later, consequent of the fall of Tippu Sultlan of Mysore in 1799, the Kongu region came to be coded to the East India Company by the Maharaja of Mysore who was restored to power by the company after defeating Tippu Sulltan. From then, till 1947 when India attained independence, the area remained under British control who initiated systematic revenue administration in the area.


Erode District Map

Erode Area:

Area Sq. Km: 5,760

Erode Population:

Male: 1,129,868
Female: 1,121,876
Total: 2,251,744

Literacy Rates

Male: 80.42%
Female: 64.71%
Total: 72.58%