Bhavanisagar (State Assembly Constituency)

Bhavanisagar is a state assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu.

Total Voters:

Male 1,18,032
Female: 1,19,552
Transgender 16
Total 2,37,600

AIADMKCandidate for Bhavanisagar Assembly Election 2016 – Mr. S Easwaran


புஞ்சைபுளியம்பட்டியில் பவானிசாகர் தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் வாக்கு சேகரிப்பு

புஞ்சைபுளியம்பட்டியில் பவானிசாகர் தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் வாக்கு சேகரிப்புஏப்ரல் 22,2016

பவானிசாகர் தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளராக ஈஸ்வரன் போட்டியிடுகிறார். இவர் புஞ்சைபுளியம்பட்டி பஸ்நிலையத்தில் உள்ள எம்.ஜி.ஆரின் உருவசிலைக்கு மாலை அணிவித்து மரியாதை செலுத்தினார். பின்னர் பஸ்நிலையம் மற்றும் கடைவீதிகளில் வாக்கு சேகரித்தார்.

அதைத்தொடர்ந்து புஞ்சைபுளியம்பட்டியில் அ.தி.மு.க. தேர்தல் அலுவலகம் திறக்கும் நிகழ்ச்சி நடைபெற்றது. நிகழ்ச்சிக்கு ஈரோடு மாவட்ட ஊராட்சிக்குழு தலைவர் எஸ்.ஆர்.செல்வம் தலைமை தாங்கினார். பவானிசாகர் ஒன்றியகுழு தலைவர் வி.ஏ.பழனிச்சாமி முன்னிலை வகித்தார். நிகழ்ச்சியில் புஞ்சைபுளியம்பட்டி அ.தி.மு.க. நகர செயலாளர் எம்.கே.ராஜேந்திரன் கலந்து கொண்டு தேர்தல் அலுவலகத்தை திறந்து வைத்தார். நிகழ்ச்சியில் வேட்பாளர் ஈஸ்வரன், புஞ்சைபுளியம்பட்டி நகராட்சி துணைத்தலைவர் பாபு, முன்னாள் எம்.எல்.ஏ. பி.ஏ.சிதம்பரம், நகர அ.தி.மு.க. அவை தலைவர் பொன்னுசாமி உள்பட கட்சியினர் பலர் கலந்து கொண்டனர்


Legislative Assembly Election Results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Sundaram P.L CPI 82890
Thirteenth 2006-2011 Subramaniam.O DMK 65055
Twelfth 2001-06 Chithambaram. P. ADMK 53879
Eleventh 1996-01 Andamuthu, V.A. DMK 63483
Tenth 1991-96 V.K. Chinnasamy ADK 63474
Ninth 1989-91 Chinnasamy, V.K. ADK(JL) 39716
Eighth 1984-89 Chinnsammy V.K. ADK 52539
Seventh 1980-84 Subramaniam, G. K. ADK 38557
Sixth 1977-80 V.K. Chinnasawamy ADK 23078
Fifth 1971-77 Ramarasan V. K. DMK 28003

History of Erode District

Bhavani Sangameshwarar Temple

Erode District was a part of Coimbatore has its history intervened with that of Coimbatore and because of its close linkage with the erstwhile Coimbatore district. It is very difficult to separately deal with the history of Erode region. Together with the area comprised in the Coimbatore district, it formed part of the ancient Kongu country known as “Kongu Nadu” history of which dates back to the Sangam era.

It is found that in the early days, this area was occupied by tribes, most prominent among them being the “Kosars” reportedly having their headquarters at ‘Kosamputhur’ which is believed to have in due course become Coimbatore. These tribes were overpowered by the Rashtrakutas from whom the region fell into the hands of the Cholas who ruled supreme during the time of Raja Chola.

On the decline of Cholas, the Kongunadu came to be occupied by the Chalukyas and later by the Pandyas and Hoysalas. Due to internal dissension in the Pandian Kingdom, the Muslim rulers from Delhi interfered and thus the area fell into the hands of Madurai Sultanate. This region was later wrested by Vijaya Nagar rulers after over throwing the Madurai Sultanate. For a few years, the area remained under Vijaya Nagar rule and later under the independent control of Madurai Nayakas.

The rule of Muthu Veerappa Nayak and later that of Tirumalai Nayak were marked by internal strife and intermittent wars which ruined the Kingdom. As a result of this, the Kongu region in which the present Erode District is situated, fell into the hands of the Mysore rulers from whom Hyder Ali took over the area.

Later, consequent of the fall of Tippu Sultlan of Mysore in 1799, the Kongu region came to be coded to the East India Company by the Maharaja of Mysore who was restored to power by the company after defeating Tippu Sulltan. From then, till 1947 when India attained independence, the area remained under British control who initiated systematic revenue administration in the area.


Erode District Map

Erode Area:

Area Sq. Km: 5,760

Erode Population:

Male: 1,129,868
Female: 1,121,876
Total: 2,251,744

Literacy Rates

Male: 80.42%
Female: 64.71%
Total: 72.58%