Sivaganga is a state assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu.

Total Voters:

Male: 1,34,446
Female: 1,36,662
Total: 2,71,108


சிவகங்கையில் அதிமுக வேட்பாளர் மனு

ஏப்ரல் 29,2016,

சிவகங்கை தொகுதி அதிமுக வேட்பாளர் பாஸ்கரன் வியாழக்கிழமை வேட்புமனு தாக்கல் செய்தார்.

சிவகங்கை தொகுதி தேர்தல் நடத்தும் அலுவலரும், வருவாய் கோட்டாட்சியருமான அரவிந்தனிடம் அதிமுக வேட்பாளர் பாஸ்கரன் வேட்பு மனு தாக்கல் செய்தார். அப்போது, அவருடன் அதிமுக நகரச் செயலர் ஆனந்த், முன்னாள் எம்.எல்.ஏ. முருகானந்தம், மாவட்டக் குழு உறுப்பினர் தேவதாஸ் உள்ளிட்டோர் சென்றிருந்தனர்.


Legislative Assembly Election Results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Gunasekaran.S CPI 75176
Thirteenth 2006-2011 Gunasekaran S CPI 39488
Twelfth 2001-06 Chandran.V ADMK 51708
Eleventh 1996-01 Kiruttinan Pasumpon, Tha. DMK 64438
Tenth 1991-96 K. R. Muruganandam ADK 69506
Ninth 1989-91 Manoharan, B. DMK 33982
Eighth 1984-89 Subramanian, O. INC 49407
Seventh 1980-84 Subramanian, O. INC(I) 41327
Sixth 1977-80 O. Subramanian INC 23495
Fifth 1971-77 S. Sethuraman DMK 42320

History of Sivaganga District


Sivaganga (also called Sivagangai) is a town and headquarters of the Sivaganga district in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu. It is also the headquarters of the Sivaganga taluk. The town is located at a distance of 48 km (30 mi) from Madurai and 449 km (279 mi) from the state capital Chennai.

Sivaganga kingdome was founded by Sasivarna Periya Oodaya Thevar in 1730. The town was subsequently ruled by his successors and ultimately by Velu Nachiyar under the stewardship of Maruthu Pandiyar. They were against the British Empire, but ultimately lost to them in 1790. The Company appointed Gowry Vallaba Periya Oodaya Thevar as the Zamindar of Sivaganga in 1801, whose successors continued with chaos until India’s independence in 1947. It was under Ramnad district until 1984 and subsequently a part of the newly formed Sivaganga district. The town is known for agriculture, metal working and weaving. The region around Sivaganga has considerable mineral deposits.

Sivaganga is administered by a municipality established in 1965. As of 2011, the municipality covered an area of 6.97 km2 (2.69 sq mi) and had a population of 40,403. Sivaganga comes under the Sivaganga assembly constituency which elects a member to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly once every five years and it is a part of the Sivaganga constituency which elects its Member of Parliament (MP) once in five years. Roadways are the major mode of transportation to the town and it also has rail connectivity. The nearest seaport, Thoothukudi Port, is located 189 km (117 mi) from Sivaganga, while the nearest airport, Madurai International Airport, is located 53 km (33 mi) from the town.


Sivaganga District Map

Sivaganga Area:

Area Sq. Km: 4,233

Sivaganga Population:

Male: 668,672
Female: 670,429
Total: 1,339,101

Literacy Rates

Male: 87.92%
Female: 71.85%
Total: 79.85%