Achievements of MLA Mr. Thangatamilselvan


MLA Mr. Thangatamilselvan



MLA Mr. Thangatamilselvan




Father Name Thangavel
Date of Birth 3rd October 1960
Place of Birth Narayanathevanpatti
Education M.A.
Marital Status Married; Two Children
Address Chennai: B7F, M.L.As Quarters, Omanthoorar Government Estate, Chennai-600 002.
Mofussil: No. 102/1, Thendral Nagar, Narayanathevanpatti Post, Uthamapalayam Taluk, Theni District-625 521.
Telephone Chennai–Residence: 044-25368305
Mofussil–Residence: 04554-27666
Mobile: +91 9842127696

Andipatti (State Assembly Constituency)

Andipatti is a constituency in the Tamil Nadu legislative assembly that includes the city, Andipatti. It is part of the Periyakulam (Lok Sabha constituency).

Total Voters:

Male: 1,26,270
Female: 1,26,462
Transgender: 15
Total: 2,52,747

Legislative Assembly Election Results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Thangatamilselvan AIADMK 91721
Thirteenth 2006-2011 Jayalalithaa J AIADMK 73927
 – 2002-06 Jayalalithaa J. AIADMK 78437
Twelfth 2001-02 Thanga Tamil Selvan ADMK 60817
Eleventh 1996-01 Aasiyan, P. DMK 50736
Tenth 1991-96 Thavasi K. ADK 66110
Ninth 1989-91 Asayan, P. DMK 31218
Eighth 1984-89 M.G. Ramachandran ADK 60510
Seventh 1980-84 Rajendran, S. S. ADK 44490
Sixth 1977-80 K. Kandasamy ADK 24311
Fifth 1971-77 Gurusamy Naidu N. V. SWA 20814
Fourth 1967-1971 S. Paramasivam SWA 35351

History of Theni District

Vaigai Dam

Theni District has been formed after bifurcation from erstwhile Madurai District as per G.O.Ms.No.679 Revenue Department Dated:25.07.96. Consequent on the bifurcation, one new Revenue Division with headquarters at Uthamapalayam and two new Taluks at Theni and Bodinaickanur were also created with effect from 01.01.97. Dr.K.Satyagopal IAS was the first collector for Theni District.

Theni Municipal town was only a firka headquarters till 31.12.96. Consequent on the formation of the new District, Theni Municipal Town has been upgraded as the Taluk and District headquarters from 01.01.97. It is mainly a commercial town. It is also known for its big weekly shandy on every Sunday. Vaigai dam and Kumbakarai falls in Periyakulam Taluk, Suruli falls in Uthamapalayam Taluk are the main places of attraction for tourists.

Gowmariamman Temple at Veerapandi Village (Theni Taluk) and saneeswara Bahavan Temple at Kuchanur Village (Uthamapalayam Taluk) are important and famous Hindu temples of this area. Kannagi temple which witnesses a single day festivity during Chitra Pournami day is in the interstate border.


Theni District MapTheni Area:

Area Sq. Km: 2,868

Theni Population:

Male: 625,683
Female: 620,216
Total: 1,245,899

Literacy Rates

Male: 85.03%
Female: 69.46%
Total: 77.26%