Lalgudi (State Assembly Constituency)

Lalgudi is a state assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu.

Total Voters:

Male 98,619
Female: 1,02,605
Transgender 12
Total 2,01,236

AIADMKCandidate for Lalgudi Assembly Election 2016 – Mr. M Vijayamoorthi

AIADMK Candidate for Lalgudi Assembly Election 2016 - Mr. M Vijayamoorthi

Legislative Assembly Election Results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Soundarapandian.A DMK 65363
Thirteenth 2006-2011 Soundara Pandian A. DMK 62937
Twelfth 2001-06 Balan .S.M. ADMK 58288
Eleventh 1996-01 K.N. Nehru DMK 84113
Tenth 1991-96 J. Logambal INC 65742
Ninth 1989-91 Nehru K. N. DMK 54275
Eighth 1984-89 K. Venkatachalam INC 61590
Seventh 1980-84 Anbil Dharmalingam DMK 40899
Sixth 1977-80 K.N. Shanmugam ADK 33322
Fifth 1971-77 Muthamil Selvan Vn. DMK 40213
Fourth 1967-71 D.Natarajan DMK 37352

History of Tiruchirappalli District

Trichy Rockfort Temple

Woraiyur , a part of present day Tiruchirappalli, was the capital city of Cholas from 300 B.C. onwards. This is supported by archaeological evidences and ancient literatures. There are also literary sources which tell that Woraiyur continued to be under the control of Cholas even during the days of Kalabhra interregnum (A.D. 300 – 575).

Later, Woraiyur along with the present day Tiruchirappalli and its neighboring areas came under the control of Mahendra Varma Pallava I, who ascended the throne in A.D. 590. Till A.D. 880, according to the inscriptions, this region was under the hegemony of either the Pallavas or the Pandyas. It was in A.D. 880, Aditya Chola brought a downfall to the Pallava dynasty. From that time onwards Tiruchirappalli and its region became a part of Greater Cholas. In A.D. 1225 the area was occupied by the Hoysulas. Afterwards, it came under the rule of later Pandyas till the advent of Mughal Rule.

Tiruchirappalli was for some time under the Mughal rule, which was put to an end by the Vijayanagar rulers. The Nayaks, the Governors of Vijayanagar Empire, ruled this area till A.D. 1736. It was Viswanatha Nayaka who built the present day Teppakulam and the Fort. The Nayak dynasty came to an end during the days of Meenakshi.

The Muslims rules this region again with the aid of either the French or the English armies. For some years, Tiruchirappalli was under the rule of Chanda Sahib and Mohamed Ali. Finally the English brought Tiruchirappalli and other areas under their control. Soon after the area was ceded to East India Company as per the agreement at the eve of the Kanatic war, Tiruchirappalli district was formed under the Collectorship of Mr. John (Junior) Wallace in 1801. The district was then under the hegemony of British for about 150 years till the independence of India.


Tiruchirappalli District MapTiruchirappalli Area:

Area Sq. Km: 4,509

Tiruchirappalli Population:

Male: 1,352,284
Female: 1,370,006
Total: 2,722,290

Literacy Rates

Male: 89.72%
Female: 76.87%
Total: 83.23%