Tiruchirappalli (East) (State Assembly Constituency)

Tiruchirappalli – I (State Assembly Constituency) has been renamed as Tiruchirappalli East after the constituency delimitations 2008.

Total Voters:

Male 1,17,721
Female: 1,23,015
Transgender 31
Total 2,40,767

AIADMKCandidate for Tiruchirappalli (East) Assembly Election 2016 – Mr. R. Manoharan

AIADMK Candidate for Tiruchirappalli (East) Assembly Election 2016 - Mr. R. Manoharan


திருச்சி கிழக்கு சட்டமன்ற தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. நிர்வாகிகள் ஆலோசனை கூட்டம்

திருச்சி கிழக்கு சட்டமன்ற தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. நிர்வாகிகள் ஆலோசனை கூட்டம் ஏப்ரல் 27, 2016,

திருச்சி மேற்கு, கிழக்கு மற்றும் திருவெறும்பூர் தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர்கள் தீவிர வாக்கு சேகரிப்பில் ஈடுபட்டு வருகின்றனர்.

வாக்கு சேகரிப்பு

திருச்சி மேற்கு சட்டமன்ற தொகுதியில் அரசு தலைமை கொறடா மனோகரன், கிழக்கு தொகுதியில் வெல்லமண்டி நடராஜன், திருவெறும்பூர் தொகுதியில் கலைச்செல்வன் ஆகியோர் அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர்களாக போட்டியிடுகின்றனர். இதையொட்டி அவர்கள் கட்சி நிர்வாகிகள் மற்றும் கூட்டணி கட்சி நிர்வாகிகளுடன் சென்று பொதுமக்களிடம் தீவிர வாக்கு சேகரிப்பில் ஈடுபட்டு வருகின்றனர். மேலும் அவர்களை ஆதரித்து கட்சி நிர்வாகிகளும், தலைமை கழக பேச்சாளர்களும் பிரசாரம் மேற்கொண்டு வருகின்றனர்.

ஆலோசனை கூட்டம்

திருச்சி கிழக்கு சட்டமன்ற தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. நிர்வாகிகள் ஆலோசனை கூட்டம் திருச்சியில் உள்ள ஒரு ஓட்டலில் நடந்தது. இதில் வேட்பாளர் வெல்லமண்டி நடராஜன் கலந்து கொண்டு பேசினார். மேலும் கூட்டத்தில் குமார் எம்.பி., திருச்சி மேற்கு தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் மனோகரன் மற்றும் ஸ்ரீரங்கம் தொகுதி அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் வளர்மதி உள்பட நிர்வாகிகள் பலர் கலந்து கொண்டனர்.


Legislative assembly election results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Manoharan R AIADMK 83046

History of Tiruchirappalli District

 Trichy Rockfort Temple

Woraiyur , a part of present day Tiruchirappalli, was the capital city of Cholas from 300 B.C. onwards. This is supported by archaeological evidences and ancient literatures. There are also literary sources which tell that Woraiyur continued to be under the control of Cholas even during the days of Kalabhra interregnum (A.D. 300 – 575).

Later, Woraiyur along with the present day Tiruchirappalli and its neighboring areas came under the control of Mahendra Varma Pallava I, who ascended the throne in A.D. 590. Till A.D. 880, according to the inscriptions, this region was under the hegemony of either the Pallavas or the Pandyas. It was in A.D. 880, Aditya Chola brought a downfall to the Pallava dynasty. From that time onwards Tiruchirappalli and its region became a part of Greater Cholas. In A.D. 1225 the area was occupied by the Hoysulas. Afterwards, it came under the rule of later Pandyas till the advent of Mughal Rule.

Tiruchirappalli was for some time under the Mughal rule, which was put to an end by the Vijayanagar rulers. The Nayaks, the Governors of Vijayanagar Empire, ruled this area till A.D. 1736. It was Viswanatha Nayaka who built the present day Teppakulam and the Fort. The Nayak dynasty came to an end during the days of Meenakshi.

The Muslims rules this region again with the aid of either the French or the English armies. For some years, Tiruchirappalli was under the rule of Chanda Sahib and Mohamed Ali. Finally the English brought Tiruchirappalli and other areas under their control. Soon after the area was ceded to East India Company as per the agreement at the eve of the Kanatic war, Tiruchirappalli district was formed under the Collectorship of Mr. John (Junior) Wallace in 1801. The district was then under the hegemony of British for about 150 years till the independence of India.


Tiruchirappalli District Map

Tiruchirappalli Area:

Area Sq. Km: 4,509

Tiruchirappalli Population:

Male: 1,352,284
Female: 1,370,006
Total: 2,722,290

Literacy Rates

Male: 89.72%
Female: 76.87%
Total: 83.23%