Polur is a state assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu.

Total Voters:

Male 1,12,050
Female: 1,13,516
Transgender 0
Total 2,25,566

AIADMKCandidate for Polur Assembly Election 2016 – Mr. CM Murugan

AIADMK Candidate for Polur Assembly Election 2016 - Mr. CM Murugan

Legislative assembly election results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Jayasudha.L AIADMK 92391
Thirteenth 2006-2011 Vijayakumar P.S INC 58595
Twelfth 2001-06 Nalini Manokaran ADMK 59678
Eleventh 1996-01 A. Rajendran DMK 59070
Tenth 1991-96 T. Vediyappan ADK 60262
Ninth 1989-91 A. Rajendran DMK 31478
Eighth 1984-89 Rajababu, J. INC 52437
Seventh 1980-84 Balaraman, L INC(I) 35456
Sixth 1977-80 K.J. Subramanian ADK 24631
Fifth 1971-77 T. P. Srinivasan DMK 34728

History of Tiruvannamalai District

Tiruvannamalai Temple

Tiruvannamalai is a town in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. The town is administered by a special grade municipality that covers an area of 16.33 km2 (6.31 sq mi) and had a population of 144,278 in 2011. It is the administrative headquarters of Tiruvannamalai District.

Tiruvannamalai is one of the most venerated places in Tamil Nadu. In ancient times, the term “Annamalai” meant an inaccessible mountain. The word “Thiru” was prefixed to signify its greatness, and coupled with the two terms, it is called Tiruvannamalai.

The temple town of Tiruvannamalai is one of the most ancient heritage sites of India and is a centre of the Saiva religion. The Arunachala hill and its environs have been held in great regard by the Tamils for centuries. The temple is grand in conception and architecture and is rich in tradition, history and festivals. The main Deepam festival attracts devotees from far and wide throughout South India. It has historic places besides Tiruvannamalai, Arni, Vandavasi, Devigapuram connected to East India and French companies. In the late Chola period this district was ruled by the Cholan of Sambuvarayar having Padavedu near Arni as HQ. We can now find the fort and note along with a Shiva temple namely Kailasanathar in Arni town.

After independence Tiruvannamalai was under North Arcot District. The civil district of North Arcot was divided into Vellore district and Tiruvannamalai district in October 1989. Thiru. P.Kolappan IAS was the first Collector of Tiruvannamalai District. On the whole Tiruvannamalai is traditionally rich in Historic and spiritual values but lacks in industrial growth.


Tiruvannamalai District Map

Tiruvannamalai Area:

Area Sq. Km: 6,188

Tiruvannamalai Population:

Male: 1,235,889
Female: 1,228,986
Total: 2,464,875

Literacy Rates

Male: 83.11%
Female: 65.32%
Total: 74.21%