Tiruvarur (State Assembly Constituency)

Tiruvarur is a state assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu. It is a Scheduled Caste reserved constituency.

Total Voters:

 Male 1,25,424
 Female: 1,27,029
Transgender 13
Total 2,52,466

AIADMK Candidate for Tiruvarur Assembly Election 2016 – Mr.Panneerselvam

Candidate for Tiruvarur - Panneerselvam

அதிமுக வேட்பாளர் பன்னீர்செல்வம் வாக்கு சேகரிப்பு நிறைவு

மே 15,2016,

திருவாரூர் பேரவைத் தொகுதி அதிமுக வேட்பாளர் ஏ.என்.ஆர். பன்னீர்செல்வம் சனிக்கிழமை வாக்கு சேகரிப்பை நிறைவு செய்தார்.

முன்னதாக காலை பெரும்பண்ணையூர் பகுதியில் பிரசாரத்தை தொடக்கிய பன்னீர்செல்வம் அங்கு பேசியது: காவிரி உரிமையைப் பெற்றுக்கொடுத்து விவசாயிகளையும், விவசாயத்தையும் பாதுகாத்தவர் முதல்வர் ஜெயலலிதா.

ஜெயலலிதாவின் 5 ஆண்டு கால ஆட்சியில் மக்கள் நலத்திட்டங்கள் ஏராளமாக நிறைவேற்றப்பட்டுள்ளன. எனவே, மீண்டும் தமிழக முதல்வராக அதிமுக பொதுச் செயலர் ஜெயலலிதா ஆக வேண்டும். அவ்வாறு முதல்வராக வந்தால் மட்டுமே முதல்வரின் திட்டங்கள் தொடரும். எனவே, திருவாரூர் தொகுதியில் அதிமுக சார்பில் போட்டியிடும் எனக்கு இரட்டை இலை சின்னத்தில் வாக்களித்து வெற்றி பெறச் செய்யுமாறு கேட்டுக்கொள்கிறேன் என்றார் பன்னீர்செல்வம்.

Legislative Assembly Election Results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Karunanidhi. M DMK 109014
Fifth 1971-77 Karunanithi M. DMK 30828
Fourth 1967-71 Dhanushkodi CPM 30510

History of Tiruvarur District

Thiruvarur Temple

Thiruvarur is the administrative headquarters of Tiruvarur district and Tiruvarur taluk. The town was one of the five traditional capitals of the Chola Empire, with one of the emperors of the dynasty, Kulothunga Chola I, having it as his capital. The town is believed to be of significant antiquity and has been ruled, at different times, by the Medieval Cholas, Later Cholas, Later Pandyas, Vijayanagar Empire, Marathas and the British.

The town is known for the Thyagaraja temple, and the annual chariot festival held in the month of April. The temple chariot of the Thyagaraja temple, weighing 300 tonnes (660,000 lb) and measuring 90 feet (27 m) tall is the largest temple chariot in Tamil Nadu. Thiruvarur is the birthplace of Tyagaraja, Muthuswami Dikshitar and Syama Sastri, popularly known as the Trinity of Carnatic music of the 18th century CE.

Thiruvarur was a part of Thanjavur district till 1991 and Nagapattinam district until 1997; it became the headquarters of Tiruvarur district when it was carved out of Nagapattinam district in 1997. The Odambokki River passes through the center of the town. Thiruvarur covers an area of 10.47 km2 (4.04 sq. mi) and had a population of 58,301 as of 2011.It is administered by a first grade municipality. The town is a part of the Cauvery delta region and agriculture is the major occupation. Roadways are the major means of transportation with a total of 94.06 km (58.45 mi) of district roads including three national highways passing

Being an agricultural town, the predominant industries are agriculture based like modern rice milling, palm oil refinery, poultry, livestock and coir based. Tamil Nadu Civil Supplies Corporation operating a modern rice mill and South India Edible Oil involved in refining oil are the large scale industries in the town.[38] There are small service enterprises involved in automobile servicing, hotels, hospitals, boat repairing and nylon fishnet repairing. There is a weekly market at Thanjai Salai and a daily market maintained by the municipality, where vegetables and fish are sold.


Thiruvarur District Map

Tiruvarur Area:

 Male 1,25,424
 Female: 1,27,029
Transgender 13
Total 2,52,466

Literacy Rates

 Male: 89.13%
 Female: 76.72%
Total: 82.86%