Mailam (State Assembly Constituency)

Mailam is a state assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu, India newly formed after constituency delimitations 2008. It is included in the Arani parliamentary constituency.

Total Voters:

Male 1,05,780
Female: 1,05,156
Transgender 14
Total 2,10,950

AIADMK Candidate for Mailam Assembly Election 2016 – Mr.Annadurai

Mailam AIADMK Candidate - Annadurai

மயிலம் தொகுதி  அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் கோவிந்தசாமியை ஆதரித்து தீவிர வாக்கு சேகரிப்பு

ஏப்ரல் 21, 2016,

மேல்சித்தாமூர் கிராமத்தில் மயிலம் அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் அண்ணாதுரையை ஆதரித்து தீவிர வாக்கு சேகரிக்கும் பணி நடைபெற்றது. இதற்கு வல்லம் ஒன்றிய செயலாளர் விநாயகமூர்த்தி தலைமை தாங்கினார். வல்லம் ஒன்றியக்குழு துணைத் தலைவர் பரிமளா பன்னீர் முன்னிலை வகித்தார்.

தொடர்ந்து அ.தி.மு.க. வேட்பாளர் அண்ணாதுரைக்கு ஆதரவாக அ.தி.மு.க.வினர் மேல்சித்தாமூர், செல்லபிராட்டி, இல்லோடு, பென்னகர், சோழங்குணம், சின்னகரம், தாமனூர், பெரும்பூண்டி, மகாதேவி மங்கலம் உள்ளிட்ட 25–க்கும் மேற்பட்ட கிராமங்களில் வீடு, வீடாக சென்று துண்டு பிரசுரங்களை வழங்கி இரட்டை இலை சின்னத்துக்கு வாக்குகளை சேகரித்தனர். இதில் மாவட்ட கவுன்சிலர்கள் வெங்கடேசன், மஞ்சுளா குமார், ஒன்றிய கவுன்சிலர்கள் வெங்கடாசலம், குணசேகரன், ஊராட்சி மன்ற தலைவர்கள் விநாயகம், முருகேசன், முன்னாள் ஊராட்சி மன்ற தலைவர் பூபதி உள்பட பலர் கலந்து கொண்டனர்.


Legislative assembly election results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Nagarajan.P AIADMK 81656

History VillupuramDistrict

Venkataramana Temple

Viluppuram District was earlier a part of Cuddalore District. It was then bifurcated from Cuddalore and became a separate district on 30th September 1993. Because of this, the history of Viluppuram district closely resembles that of Cuddalore.

The Chola were the early rulers. Among these rulers, Karikala Chola was the most famous and powerful.

For a short period, the Cholas were overthrown by Simhavishnu Pallava and the Region came under the Pallava rule for sometime. Vijayalaya Chola again revived Chola rule. This was the beginning of great Chola Empire. The later Chola rulers were weak and the power passed on to the hands of Eastern Chalukyas.

Cholas regained their lost position but with the rise of Jatavarman Sundara Pandya-1 (1251 A.D), Chola supremacy came to an end. The sway of Pandyas lasted for over 50 years, followed by Muslim domination from 1334 to 1378 A.D. By 1378, the region came under the rule of Vijayanagara Empire and Nayaks were appointed as the rulers of the region.

In 1677 Shivaji took Gingee area with the assistance of Golkonda forces. Then came the Mughals. During the Mughals regime, both the English and French acquired settlements in South Arcot. During the Anglo-French rivalry, the entire district was turned into a war land. After sometime, the entire area came under the control of East India Company. It remained under British authority till 1947 when India became independent.


Villupuram District Map

Viluppuram Area:

Area Sq. Km: 7,194
Male: 1,740,819
Female: 1,718,054
Total: 3,458,873
Male: 80.55%
Female: 63.15%
Total: 71.88%