Villupuram (State Assembly Constituency)

Villupuram is a legislative assembly constituency in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Villupuram will be one of 17 assembly constituencies to have VVPAT facility with EVMs in Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly election, 2016

Total Voters:

Male 1,20,863
Female: 1,24,205
Transgender 42
Total 2,45,110

AIADMK Candidate for Villupuram Assembly Election 2016 – Mr.Vee Shanmugam

Villupuram AIADMK Candidate - Vee Shanmugam

Legislative assembly election results

Assembly Duration Winner Party Votes
Fourteenth 2011- Shanmugam.C.V AIADMK 90304
Thirteenth 2006-2011 Ponmudy.K DMK 72462
Twelfth 2001-06 Ponmudy.K DMK 65693
Eleventh 1996-01 Deivasigamani @ Ponmudy DMK 74891
Tenth 1991-96 D. Janaardhanan ADK 55105
Ninth 1989-91 Deivasigamani (A) Ponmudi, K. DMK 45145
Eighth 1984-89 Rajarathinam Mani M. ADK 50156
Seventh 1980-84 Palaniappan, K. P DMK 45952
Sixth 1977-80 P.Krishnan ADK 27882
Fifth 1971-77 M. Shanmugam DMK 35838

History of Villupuram District

Venkataramana Temple

Viluppuram District was earlier a part of Cuddalore District. It was then bifurcated from Cuddalore and became a separate district on 30th September 1993. Because of this, the history of Viluppuram district closely resembles that of Cuddalore.

The Chola were the early rulers. Among these rulers, Karikala Chola was the most famous and powerful.

For a short period, the Cholas were overthrown by Simhavishnu Pallava and the Region came under the Pallava rule for sometime. Vijayalaya Chola again revived Chola rule. This was the beginning of great Chola Empire. The later Chola rulers were weak and the power passed on to the hands of Eastern Chalukyas.

Cholas regained their lost position but with the rise of Jatavarman Sundara Pandya-1 (1251 A.D), Chola supremacy came to an end. The sway of Pandyas lasted for over 50 years, followed by Muslim domination from 1334 to 1378 A.D. By 1378, the region came under the rule of Vijayanagara Empire and Nayaks were appointed as the rulers of the region.

In 1677 Shivaji took Gingee area with the assistance of Golkonda forces. Then came the Mughals. During the Mughals regime, both the English and French acquired settlements in South Arcot. During the Anglo-French rivalry, the entire district was turned into a war land. After sometime, the entire area came under the control of East India Company. It remained under British authority till 1947 when India became independent.


Villupuram District Map

Viluppuram Area:

Area Sq. Km: 7,194
Male: 1,740,819
Female: 1,718,054
Total: 3,458,873
Male: 80.55%
Female: 63.15%
Total: 71.88%